Albert Pinto Ko Gussa Kyoon Aata Hai

Albert Pinto Ko Gussa Kyoon Aata Hai

Directed by
Saeed Akhtar Mirza

Produced by
Saeed Akhtar Mirza

Story by
Saeed Akhtar Mirza

Naseeruddin Shah
Shabana Azmi
Smita Patil
Om Puri

Music by
Bhaskar Chandavarkar
Manas Mukherjee

Virendra Saini

Edited by
Renu Saluja

Release date

1980 (1980)

Running time

110 mins



Albert Pinto Ko Gussa Kyoon Aata Hai (English: Why does Albert Pinto get Angry?) is an 1980 Bollywood film directed by Saeed Akhtar Mirza based on his own story. The film starred Naseeruddin Shah, Shabana Azmi and Smita Patil as leads.[1][2][3][4]
It won the 1981 Filmfare Critics Award for Best Movie [5]


1 Synopsis
2 Cast
3 Crew
4 Awards and Nominations
5 References
6 External links

The film captures the angst of a worker, in Mumbai exemplified by a young Christian car mechanic, Albert Pinto (Naseeruddin Shah) who is under the illusion that if he works hard and emulates the rich, one day he can also be successful. He makes friendly relations with his customers, who are usually the rich of the city and who keep telling him that good workers do not go on strike. Strikes are the handiwork of lumpen elements. Pinto gets angry with the supposedly wrong attitudes of the workers who he assumes go on strike under any pretext. However, when Pinto’s father, who is a mill worker is abused by the lumpen elements hired by the mill owners, he realizes that it is not the workers but the capitalists who should be blamed for the plight of the workers. He also realizes the legitimacy of strikes. Towards the end of the movie, Pinto still remains an angry man; but now his anger is directed against the capitalists, not the striking workers.[6]

Naseeruddin Shah as Albert Pinto
Shabana Azmi as Stella D’Costa
Smita Patil as Joan Pinto
Dilip Dhawan as Dominic Pinto
Sulabha Deshpande as Mrs. Pinto, Albert’s mother
Arvind Deshpandeas Mr. Pinto, Albert’s father
Rohini Hattangadi as Vivek’s wife
Achyut Potdar as Chandumal Potdar (mill owner)
Mushtaq Khan as The Lecherous Shopper tying to flirt with ‘Joan Pinto’ (Smita Patil)
Anjali Paigankar
Shyam Gupta as Madhu (mechanic)
Satish Shah
Avtar Gill
Utpal Dutt
Naresh Suri
Nitin Sethi
Motu Upadhyaya
Roshan Tanuja
Muhafiz Haider
Jaidev Hattangadi


Assistant script writer: Sudhir Mishra
Assistant Director: Ajay Mishra
Costume Design: Jennifer Mirza, Kundan Shah

Awards and Nominations[e